The Team and Fellows


The core team of researchers is located at two different venues, the Institute for Social Sciences at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, and the Faculty of Law at Bilkent Üniversitesi in Ankara.

The team in Berlin is headed by Prof. Dr. Silvia von Steinsdorff, Professor for Comparative Studies of democracy and the Political Systems of Eastern Europe. Two principal researchers, Felix Petersen and Maria Haimerl, and affiliated researchers, Zeynep Yanasmayan and Anna Fruhstorfer, complete the team in Berlin.

The team in Ankara is headed by Assoc. Prof. Dr. Ece Göztepe Çelebi, Associate Professor for Public and Constitutional Law at the Law Faculty of Bilkent. Moreover, doctoral students of the Law faculty work rotational with Prof. Göztepe on the project.

All persons involved have focused in their work in the past years on subjects like: Constitutional Politics, Constitutional Courts, Constitution Making, Societal, Legal and Political Transformation, Democracy, Public Law, Rule of Law.


The “Research Lab” invites scholars to apply for research funding. Moreover, it invites scholars to spend time at the respective departments at Humboldt and Bilkent, and engange in academic exchange with the research team.

The first fellows accepted in 2014 are: Dr. Mehtap Söyler, Dr. Ertug Tombuş, Leslie Esbrook.

Since then, Fulden Eskidelvan, Mert Alpbaz, Zeynep Yanasmayan and Gözde Böcü have become Fellows of the Research Lab.

The research lab is funded by the Stiftung Mercator, within the framework of the research initiative “Studien zur zeitgenössischen Türkei” (Contemporary Turkey Studies).